You are here

Back to top

An Evening with Vesper Stamper

Join us for a very special discussion on Tuesday September 15th with author and illustrator Vesper Stamper. Her new book, A Cloud of Outrageous Blue is for fans of Fever 1793. It tells the story of a young woman paving her own path and falling in love during the Great Plague of 1348, from the award-winning creator of What the Night Sings.

About the book:
Edyth grew up in a quiet village with a loving family, before losing everything she holds dear in the blink of an eye. Suddenly sent to live in a priory and work with ancient texts, Edyth must come to terms with her new life and the gifts she discovers in herself. But outside the priory, something much worse is coming. With the reappearance of a boy from her past and the ominous Great Plague creeping closer and closer to the priory, it will be up to Edyth to rise above it all and save herself. (Although written for young adults, this book is for all ages, historical fiction)

From the award-winning author-illustrator of What the Night Sings comes a new journey of self-discovery and love in the most uncertain times. To register and receive the zoom link, click HERE.

About What the Night Sings:
For fans of "The Book Thief" and "The Boy in the Striped Pajamas" comes a lushly illustrated novel about a teen Holocaust survivor who tries to make a new life for herself. "This powerful story of love, loss, and survival is not to be missed."--Kristin Hannah, #1 "New York Times"-bestselling author of "The Nightingale."
A Morris Award Finalist
Longlisted for the National Book Award

About the author:
Vesper Stamper was born in Nuremberg, Germany and raised in New York City. She married filmmaker Ben Stamper right out of college, and together they have two wildly creative children.When Vesper earned her MFA in Illustration from School of Visual Arts, Ben gave her an orange tree. She illustrates and writes under its leaves and blossoms at her grandfather's old drafting table, in the pine woods of the Northeast. Follow her on Twitter at @vesperillustrat and on Facebook at @vesperillustration, and learn more at vesperillustration.com.

Event Date: 
Tuesday, September 15, 2020 - 7:00pm to 8:30pm
Address: 
178 Greenwood Avenue
Bethel, CT 06801
Books: 
A Cloud of Outrageous Blue Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524700416
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - August 25th, 2020

What the Night Sings Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9781524700386
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - February 20th, 2018